Western Cape #ISES_2014 Overall

The Western Cape Leg of the Inter School Eliminator Series kicked off and set the benchmark for the other provinces and schools to try follow and beat.  During the course of the series, riders got to experience three very different courses ranging in terrain from single track, open fields and urban hosted in different regions around the province: Bishops Diocesan College in Rondebosch, Paul Roos Gymnasium in Stellenbosch and Hoérskool DF Malan in Bellville.

As the series moved from one event to another, the riders and schools started working on team tactics and realized that it didn’t matter how far ahead of the field you were in a heat race, as the top two would advance and rather than racing further ahead, conserve your energy for later rounds.

A total of 111 riders entered the Western Cape leg of the series from 21 different schools from around the province amongst the 3 age groups u/14, u/16 and u/19. Unfortunately there was not enough entrants from the girls to run their divisions – this will definitely be something to work on in the coming events!

After three action packed contested events, champions needed to be crowned. In the u/14 it was three from three for Calla De Vos ahead of three times runner up Daniel Van Der Walt, with Karl Prins showing that consistency pays off to round off the podium.
1. Calla De Vos                   (Paul Roos Gymnasium)
2. Daniel Van Der Walt    (Kenridge Primary)
3. Karl Prins                        (Bishops Diocesan College)

The u/16 division offered great entertainment with a hard fought tussle for the top honours with the lead changing three times during the course of the series and finally having Joshua De Freitas victorious over Neil Van Tonder by the smallest of margins with Wynand Dippennaar taking his place on the final spot of the podium.
1. Joshua De Freitas        (Parel Vallei High School)
2. Neil Van Tonder          (Hoérskool DF Malan)
3. Wynand Dippennaar  (Hoérskool DF Malan)

The u/19 series was pretty much a one man race with Manie Lubbe being fairly unchallenged for top honours ahead of Alexander Rohrer whose two finals and quarter final result placed him ahead of Morne Hollander who completed the top three.
1. Manie Lubbe            (Hoérskool DF Malan)
2. Alexander Rohrer   (Bishops Diocesan College)
3. Morne Hollander    (Hoérskool DF Malan)

In the Schools division it was a dominant performance from Hoérskool DF Malan that rocketed them ahead of all the competition placing them on the top step of the podium ahead of hard fighting Paul Roos Gymnasium who finished second to edge out Bishops Diocesan College into third place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *