KZN #JES_2015 Overall


With the series being officially sanctioned by Cycling South Africa a minor name change needed to be made – what was formally known as the Inter School Eliminator Series is now the Junior Eliminator Series. KwaZulu Natal saw a large increase in numbers from 2014 with 27 schools including three development teams being represented. With the increase in numbers came a high standard of racing and spectators were entertained by some close racing and numerous sprint finishes. Riders were tested by three vastly different courses on different types of terrain hosted by: Northwood Boys High School, Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park and Maritzburg College.

Amongst the Under 14 ladies it was Emma Clipstone whose consistency paid off putting her on the top step at the end of the series.
1. Emma Clipstone (St Marys DSG)
2. Kiara Muldoon (Northlands Girls High)
3. Sarah Ryan (Wykeham Collegiate)

The top two under 14 boys were separated by a mere 100 points, the closest battle we have had so far with Travis Stedman just ousting Mitchel Potgieter.
1. Travis Stedman (Winston Park Primary)
2. Mitchel Potgieter (Kloof Primary)
3. Myles Crookes (Hillcrest High School)

With Tiffany Keep absent amongst the under 16 girls from the last event the door was left wide open for Courtney Smith to jump into first position.
1. Courtney Smith (Thomas More College)
2. Tiffany Keep (Thomas More College)
3. Ncamasile Mabaso (Ladysmith Development Cycling Club)

After two third positions in the under 16 boys, Joshua Clipstone’s victory at the final event leap frogged him onto the top step of the overall podium.
1. Joshua Clipstone (Thomas More College)
2. Gage Hansson (Cambridge College UK)
3. Cayde Muldoon (Northwood Boys High School)

Despite the slip in the final event, the previous two victories for Dean Wortmann were enough to secure his position at the top of the under 19 boys.
1. Dean Wortmann (Wartburg Kirchdorf School)
2. Felix manke (Maritzburg College)
3. Mitchell Meugens (Maritzburg College)

It was the overall winning team announcement that everyone was waiting for in anticipation especially with the prize of R10 000 for custom Enjoy Fitness cycling kit and a Rayne Cam. It was super close amongst the top 3 teams only being separated by a mere 900 points. In the end, it was Northwood Boys high School who narrowly squeezed out the competition to successful defend their title and walk away with all the spoils.
1. Northwood Boys High School
2. Maritzburg College
3. Thomas More College

Thank you to our three host venues: Northwood Boys High School, Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park and Maritzburg College. Without the tremendous support of the sponsors none of the series would be possible – THANK YOU: Trek Bikes, Fox Racing, Enjoy Fitness, Skullcandy, Rayne Cams, OGIO and Paul Bothner Music/Glenwood Village Music. Thanks to all the riders for keeping the spectators throughly entertained with intense racing and lastly to the parents for all their support in driving their kids to events every weekend and encouraging them. Thank you Aldine Venter – Ink Black Visual Art for all the great images and Johan Badenhorst for the awesome video edits.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *